These days, humanity is more connected than ever. For better or for worse, it appears that nothing short of a global catastrophe will change this any time soon. Though Facebook’s growth has been decelerating lately, an actual exodus of significant proportion is probably not in the cards for the social media goliath. Even so, the Zuckerberg empire includes Instagram and WhatsApp. This makes it very difficult for a large percentage of the global population to escape Facebook’s reach.
It is possible though. You can delete your Facebook profile and all your data pretty easily. The scope of Facebook being what it is, removing oneself from the platform can significantly reduce an online footprint.
How to Deactivate Your Account
If you are unsure if you want to remove your Facebook account or not there is another option. You can deactivate your account. The nice thing about this is that you can reactivate it whenever you want. Once you have deactivated your account others won’t be able to see your timeline or search for you. However, some information can still be visible, like the messages you sent through private messenger.
Deactivating is also a good option if you want to get rid of your Facebook account but you want to continue using Facebook Messenger.
to deactivate your Facebook account you can follow these instructions:
- Go to the Settings of your Facebook account
- It will open on the “General Account Settings” page
- Click on “Manage Account”
- Finally click on “Deactivate Your Account”
You can reactivate your account anytime you like by simply logging into your account. It could be that you also need to go through a verification that will be sent to your email or mobile phone.
How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account
It’s common for people to take a break from Facebook and unwind by suspending their accounts for a period of time. However, if you should decide you’ve had more than enough of the endless baby photos, multi-level marketing schemes, and political discussions, you can take things a step further and pull the plug entirely. To its credit, Facebook has made this process very simple.
First, you should download a copy of your data. That is, if you want to keep your information. This data can be quite sensitive, so keep it safe.
- Open the Facebook account menu and select General Account Settings.
- Select Download a copy of your Facebook data.
- Click Start My Archive
- Facebook will send you an email when your archive is ready to download.
Next, you just need to visit https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account and click Delete my account. That’s all the action that is necessary from your end. Your account will be immediately suspended and unavailable in Facebook’s search results. However, the actual account deletion can take a while longer.
Don’t Want to Lose Other Apps?
When deleting your Facebook account it is good to keep in mind that many of us use their Facebook to log into other apps. Many popular apps like Pinterest and Spotify offer the option to log in using your Facebook account. While this is ideal because this means you won’t have to remember ten different passwords, it also means they are all connected to Facebook. Make sure that you find out where you have used the Facebook login. If you would like to be able to get access to that app in the future it is wise to change the login on that app before deleting your Facebook.
It is important to note that Facebook has a failsafe option just in case you get cold feet the next day. Simply log into your account. This will immediately restore your account. Your account will be deleted in the following weeks, though it might take a few months for your actual data to be permanently removed from Facebook’s servers.
If you really want to delete your presence on Facebook it is important that you do not try to log in to see if it has truly been deleted. Simply, because this will reactivate your account immediately. A better option is to let a friend look for you on Facebook.
Facebook has maneuvered it’s way deep into our lives. Many are considering to leave the social platform for privacy reasons. However, because it connects us to so many things we might be afraid to do so. As you have been able to read, you can deactivate or delete your Facebook completely. Facebook has made it extremely easy to do so. But it would be advised to keep in mind that you might use your Facebook login for other apps. By following our steps you can leave the Zuckerberg playground completely.